Presents of Mind

Here Be An Uncertain Fiction Writer | “It ain’t whatcha write, it’s the way atcha write it.” —Jack Kerouac

My Gothic Nostalgia, Part 1

Yes, I’m dating myself when I say that I miss the traditional Gothic community that flourished around the planet through the 1980s and 1990s. I fell deeply, darkly in love with the entire scene for the better part of the 1990s. So much in love that I started my own Gothic literary magazine. Which is probably an oxymoron for the purist types, but it got some good reviews for those of us who are MFA challenged.

See, for me it all started with bands like The Cure, Joy Division, Sisters of Mercy, Fields of the Nepthilim, and New Order. Books written by Ann Rice and Poppy Z. Brite. The oldsters, I know. And even more obscure the two magazines that absolutely swept me into a new dimension of funereal loveliness: Ghastly and Project (both out of print), which were for the most part dedicated to Gothic fashion, but the only two Goth zines I knew of back in 1990.

I decided I would take things in a slightly different direction. New Order’s song Elegia gave me the name, and I sent for submissions at a writer’s collective (no longer around) called Scavenger’s Newsletter. I got enough submissions to publish the first issue in 5 X 8 format. I photocopied the edited stories and poems and some graphics I found in old books (the Internet wasn’t even a word anyone used back then), all at a little shop, then folded and stapled them myself.

I gave the pages a red cover and hand-lettered “Elegia: A Journey into the Gothic,” volume 1, issue 1, $1.50. No paid advertising, but I photocopied a few ads I found just for fun and mailed it out to everyone who had submitted. It was great fun. So much fun that I put out six more issues (in 8 X 12 format), although with longer time in bewtween each.

The reason I had to write this post is in memory of those days before technology and subsequent generations of the Gothic left the truly dark and lovely images behind. When I do a search for “Gothic” now, I see an entirely different mind-set. Not that it doesn’t have its place, but it lacks something I don’t have a language for.

Back in the day the elegance, the gorgeous lament, the music, the fascination with all things funereal captured my heart and soul. I dressed the part, yes, and wrote and thought, and created, and everything I did came from that exquisite sensibility. Leila Wendell, Timothy Renner, Sam Rosenthal, Drucilla Blood, and all the company of night lace and cemeteries…ah how I miss them.

Sigh. Yet there is still one corner of the Internet where I can listen and watch the old Gothic rush over and through me, and that’s whenever I listen to and watch Mary Fahl sing Bury My Lovely on YouTube. No one these days classifies October Project as Gothic, but I don’t care. I’ll take it where I can find it.

I guess my sentiment calls to me. It’s never very far beneath the surface, even though these days I rarely visit cemeteries and my wardrobe has colors besides black. I retired my Docs and my black cape. I still have my fangs. But nowadays the Gothic lives undead in my mind…wait…that’s where it always lived, undead.

Go ahead,

Information

This entry was posted on November 24, 2008 by in Personal, Writing and tagged , , , , .
Healthy Diet

weight loss and diet tips with recips

Christopher Kokoski

Writing tips, tricks and secrets

Ingrid's Notes

... musings on creative writing and craft ...

Words and Wanderings

Blog of Writer Michelle Mueller

The Ink Stain

Hi everyone! This is my blog, and this is where I post all of my stories. Writing is my favorite thing to do, and I love nothing more than this. I would appreciate it if you took the time to read my stories! If you like the blog, please share it with more people. Thank you!

Dimitris Melicertes

I don't write, I touch without touching.

Clean Eating with a Dirty Mind

Culinary Adventures in Paleo Cooking

A Permaculture Design Course Handbook

An Online Reader for the Permaculture Community

UP!::urban po'E.Tree(s)

by po'E.T. and the colors of pi

Dark Humor Collective

Short fiction by Chaunce Stanton for funny people

A fool with a pen

The one thing more dangerous than a fool...

Untypickal

Picture a ball with sharp corners. That's me.

AntiWorldNews

Articles all over the world

Old World Garden Farms

Gardening, Cooking, Canning, And A DIY Approach To Living!

Mama Ruthie's Garden

A year spent digging in the dirt.

Out of the well

The bottom-of-a-well perspective of a wrestling writer. All perspectives welcome.

Scriblet

A random collection of musings, shenanigans, and literary tomfoolery

Food Family and Future

An adventure in gardening for food, sustainability and family fun.

Brenna Layne

"Only connect." -E.M. Forster

The Zero-Waste Chef

No packaging. No trash (to speak of). Everything from scratch.

Uncivilized Animals

"We are lost, but other animals point to the right road. They are the right road." -John Zerzan

World Organic News

Bringing you the latest in ideas, technologies and methods

kamundih's Blog

This WordPress.com site is the cat’s pajamas

Nella Martin

an appointment with a nurse in practice

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,328 other followers

