Presents of Mind

“It ain’t whatcha write, it’s the way atcha write it.” —Jack Kerouac

In Praise of Stumptown Coffee

Okay, like I wrote in an earlier post, I tried giving up coffee. I mean, what is it exactly about the stuff that makes reading books and writing fiction so much more, well, interesting? Everyone in the laundromat today was reading a book…not newspapers or magazines, BOOKS. Everyone in this city is serious on a rain-swept day. This Portland is seriously into reading BOOKS–in their houses, on the buses and in cafes. This is a readers’ town–and a writers’ town. You betcha.

Anyway, I gradually downsized the amount of coffee grounds in the French press until I could sail through my day without a headache or in total bitch mode. But as time went on I got this hollowness inside. Like something was missing in my life. So as I wrote earlier, I started drinking this yerba mate blend called Brazilian Breakfast I ripped from Celestial Seasonings, which used to make something similar. But I can’t drink tea without honey and milk (soy), so I was also piling on the calories. And the thing about the molecular caffeine in tea, for me at least, is that it makes me hungry, hungry, hungry all day long. I could eat the door right off the fridge. I mean, tea is nice once in awhile, but not by the pot, and not every day. It doesn’t have the same buzz as coffee for me.

But I was determined to stick to my guns and stay off coffee. I really was. Really I was. So I bought a can of decaf (organic, fair trade) at Trader Joe’s. I got about halfway through the can (I grind the beans as I need them in an electric grinder I found at coffee-grinderVillage Merchants for $6, but ideally I’d like to find one of those wooden boxes with a crank and grinder mechanism on top and a drawer below) I nearly gagged from the deceit. Drinking decaf is like kissing your sister (or brother). There’s no kick, so what’s the point?

This addiction goes back a ways. When I was old enough to hold a mug, maybe around two, my beloved grandfather (Baba) used to make coffee for himself and my grandmother every morning. When I stayed with them he’d pour a mug of milk for me and add a little coffee. That’s how I developed a taste for the stuff, which back then was probably Folger’s or Maxwell House. As I got older the milk decreased and the coffee increased in my mug. I drank it at my grandparents’ house; I drank it at my parents’ house. I drank in in restaurants and anywhere I pleased. My parents never disapproved. They also kept the liquor cabinet open to me at all times. I tried the stuff but never developed a taste. Maybe if Baba had offered it I’d be a drunk today.

hairbenderSo I’ve tried every kind of coffee that’s in front of me. It was all pretty much the same (except I hate instant coffee) and I boycott places that treat their employees like crap, like Starbucks. After I got to Portland I kept seeing “Stumptown Coffee” signs everywhere. I finally tried a cup and thought it was too strong (!). Then I tried another cup on another day and that was it. See, Stumptown Coffee is like crack. Once you get it in you, everything else tastes like crap. So, hell yeah, I’m back on coffee. I had my first cuppa Hair Bender Stumptown for the first time in two months t’day. Holy crap it tasted good. You know that scene in Trainspotting where Ewen McGregor shoots up and falls straight back on the carpet of the junk house? I’m just saying.

I don’t know what I (or millions of other people) will do if world coffee supply ever dries up. That’s like the poppy fields blowing away. Does anyone ever realize how important coffee is to the success of capitalism?

One comment on “In Praise of Stumptown Coffee

  1. Pingback: THE COMING OF COFFEE’S FOURTH WAVE » Specialty Coffee Beans

Go ahead,

Information

This entry was posted on February 23, 2009 by in Personal, random thoughts, Writing and tagged .
Healthy Diet

weight loss and diet tips with recips

Christopher Kokoski

Writing tips, tricks and secrets

Ingrid's Notes

... musings on creative writing and craft ...

Words and Wanderings

Blog of Writer Michelle Mueller

The Ink Stain

Hi everyone! This is my blog, and this is where I post all of my stories. Writing is my favorite thing to do, and I love nothing more than this. I would appreciate it if you took the time to read my stories! If you like the blog, please share it with more people. Thank you!

Dimitris Melicertes

I don't write, I touch without touching.

Clean Eating with a Dirty Mind

Culinary Adventures in Paleo Cooking

A Permaculture Design Course Handbook

An Online Reader for the Permaculture Community

UP!::urban po'E.Tree(s)

by po'E.T. and the colors of pi

Dark Humor Collective

Short fiction by Chaunce Stanton for funny people

A fool with a pen

The one thing more dangerous than a fool...

Untypickal

Picture a ball with sharp corners. That's me.

AntiWorldNews

Articles all over the world

Old World Garden Farms

Gardening, Cooking, Canning, And A DIY Approach To Living!

Mama Ruthie's Garden

A year spent digging in the dirt.

Out of the well

The bottom-of-a-well perspective of a wrestling writer. All perspectives welcome.

Scriblet

A random collection of musings, shenanigans, and literary tomfoolery

Food Family and Future

An adventure in gardening for food, sustainability and family fun.

Brenna Layne

"Only connect." -E.M. Forster

The Zero-Waste Chef

No packaging. No trash (to speak of). Everything from scratch.

Uncivilized Animals

"We are lost, but other animals point to the right road. They are the right road." -John Zerzan

World Organic News

Bringing you the latest in ideas, technologies and methods

kamundih's Blog

This WordPress.com site is the cat’s pajamas

Nella Martin

an appointment with a nurse in practice

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,349 other followers

