Presents of Mind

On good days the Muse brings me "presents" for my writer's mind to play with. But those days are rare.

Ma Fée Blanche

white-moscatoI can’t stand the taste of most alcoholic beverages and I hate to throw up, so I shun parties and refuse to go to bars unless there’s no way to get out of it. As a student I learned to be a professional party evader. I’ve also been a nomad most of my life. The results have been that my only long-term friendships have been books.

As a writer I could use the goose of the benevolent muse, sometimes. You know how it is, when nothing comes on those writing days? When just the thought of facing the page is worse than eating glass? But you drag yourself there and write hours’ worth of pure, unmitigated crap? At least if you’re baked with benevolence, your mean muse, the one holding a gun to your head saying “Just write the fucking story,” has to back off, at least for a little while.

When I was growing up my parents were lushes and kept a well-stocked liquor cabinet and a steady supply of beer in the fridge. I was more of a Coca-Cola aficionado myself, so I found the sweeter liqueurs more appealing, since the parents gave me 24/7 access to their fermented beverage supply. No doubt if I’d have actually shown an affinity toward booze, they’d have locked it up in a safe faster than you can say Jack Daniels.

When we lived in Southwest Asia, Western liqueurs were relatively cheap and easy to find in markets that catered to Westerners. As a result I developed a keen appreciation for Drambuie and Cherry Heering. And when I went to Moscow my friend and I made the major error of drinking too much cherry juice and vodka at the Bolshoi Ballet during intermission. Sufficiently inebriated we found our way back downstairs and when the curtains went up again we shouted at the dancers until everyone in the audience turned to stare at us. I don’t know why the authorities never kicked us out, but, then, I don’t remember much about the ballet either.

Fast-forward to a wedding I attended some years ago. I didn’t know the bride or the groom, but that didn’t stop me from drinking glass-loads of something that tasted divine from an enormous champagne fountain in the center of a table at the reception. It was absolutely the best alcoholic beverage I’d ever tasted. I was so drunk from it I forgot to ask the hosts what it was, and I gave up a long time ago, thinking I’d never find out.

That is until today when someone set a bottle of Barefoot moscoto on the kitchen table and I poured a swallow into a mug and tasted it. Bingo. I recognized the taste from the wedding. I’m in love.

Reviews are mixed on the Barefoot brand, but there are many others out there. This is a new day. Oh, joy. Oh, inspiration. Okay, I’m a lightweight, and no connoisseur, but I think I found my Fée Blanche, my white fairy.

Could this be the beginning of a beautiful relationship?

marie-pm

6 comments on “Ma Fée Blanche

  1. Kate's Bookshelf
    April 25, 2014

    I love the term Fee Blanche. If I am going to indulge when I write, it’s usually with some form of Irish whiskey, but a good sweet wine is lovely. Out here in CA we have an Oak Leaf Moscato that is lovely. I know what you mean, who can drink just one….

    • inkandpages
      April 25, 2014

      Yes, a good, sweet wine is lovely, as long as it’s light and every-so-slightly effervescent. Anything heavy and it’s lost down the pipes under the house.

      • Kate's Bookshelf
        April 25, 2014

        I reserve the heavy wines, IE the merlots and pinot noirs, for a good steak, spaghetti, or something for dinner. But other than that, no. Light is usually quite useful for writing….. or coffee. Though that usually ends up cold… I don’t do well drinking anything hot when I write. :P

        • inkandpages
          April 25, 2014

          Hot sweet tea with milk is my writing beverage of choice. It’s actually a fetish. Can’t start writing without it. I know nothing about wines, and marvel at those like yourself who can a) drink them regularly without getting ill and b) know which wines go with what and all the names etc.

  2. motherhendiaries
    April 20, 2014

    Steady…. steady….. :-) This is dangerous stuff for the lightweight! I am, sadly, not a lightweight. (Or, at least I don’t think I am.) But in my younger (and lighter) days, I remember being on the receiving end of a few sharp looks now and again. I found that gaining 4o pounds and 30 years has put an end to that scenario. Either I hold it very well now or I have learned the blessed art of self control. Or maybe both… :-) Enjoy your Fee Blanche while she remains. She’s a fickle one.

    • inkandpages
      April 20, 2014

      I read somewhere that if you can limit this stuff to one 5-oz glass you’re ingesting 125 calories.The problem is, who wants to stop at 5 ounces when you have a novel to finish? And think of the tremendous number of hours we spend just sitting around with keyboard or pen. A wonder we aren’t all mountainous hulks of flesh.

Go ahead,

Information

This entry was posted on April 20, 2014 by in Writing and tagged , .
Exequy's Blog

Come to learn

lionaroundwriting

Let us make an exchange - I provide stories, you enjoy them.

Healthy Diet

weight loss and diet tips with recips

Christopher Kokoski

Writing tips, tricks and secrets

Ingrid's Notes

... musings on creative writing and craft ...

Words and Wanderings

Blog of Writer Michelle Mueller

The Ink Stain

Hi everyone! This is my blog, and this is where I post all of my stories. Writing is my favorite thing to do, and I love nothing more than this. I would appreciate it if you took the time to read my stories! If you like the blog, please share it with more people. Thank you!

Dimitris Melicertes

I don't write, I touch without touching.

Clean Eating with a Dirty Mind

Culinary Adventures in Paleo Cooking

A Permaculture Design Course Handbook

An Online Reader for the Permaculture Community

UP!::urban po'E.Tree(s)

by po'E.T. and the colors of pi

Dark Humor Collective

Short fiction by Chaunce Stanton for funny people

A fool with a pen

The one thing more dangerous than a fool...

Untypickal

Picture a ball with sharp corners. That's me.

AntiWorldNews

Articles all over the world

Old World Garden Farms

Gardening, Cooking, Canning, And A DIY Approach To Living!

Mama Ruthie's Garden

A year spent digging in the dirt.

Write to Wrestle

Live. Think. Learn. Dream. Create. Write.

Scriblet

A random collection of musings, shenanigans, and literary tomfoolery

Food Family and Future

An adventure in gardening for food, sustainability and family fun.

Brenna Layne

"Only connect." -E.M. Forster

The Zero-Waste Chef

No packaging. No trash (to speak of). Everything from scratch.

Uncivilized Animals

"We are lost, but other animals point to the right road. They are the right road." -John Zerzan

World Organic News

Bringing you the latest in ideas, technologies and methods

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,426 other followers

