Presents of Mind

On good days the Muse brings me "presents" for my writer's mind to play with. But those days are rare.

My Terror of Agile Book People

To me, the mass marketing and money end of writing is the over-ripe cheesy-smelling end. But its time I came to terms with it, pop my head out of my butt where I still exist in some kind of quaint yesteryear of typewriters, fountain pens, Hemingway and Woolf when you could count on five hands those who werefear-depression-anxiety publishing novels out there at primordial houses like Harcourt, Farrar, Straus, Giroux, and Scribner. A writer still spends six months, six years, six decades writing a novel. Then the real work begins: Finding an agent, understanding “the market,” current publishing options (because Unbound, for instance), marketing oneself in an industry that’s undergoing convulsive changes, all those publishing house mega mergers. Good god.

I’m terrified of other writers who don’t share my terror. You know the ones I’m talking about, those upbeat, cheerful writers, those “agile book people” who lick their finger to see where the wind is blowing and jump in. Well, I know a woman from Malibu whose entire wardrobe consists of outfits each made of a tenth-ounce of string. She’s upbeat and cheerful, too. Not me. I was diagnosed with generalized anxiety disorder, so at least I can say I’m normal. But just thinking about getting published makes my eyes foam.

Well, I ask you. Is there a reason to feel flattened by the sheer magnitude of the competition?  The UN predicts that the earth will sag under the weight of nine billion humans by 2050. With something like six billion people already writing and jockeying for limited shelf space/place in the “supply chain”  out  there, should “less talented” writers than J.K. Rowling, writers like you and me, just become drunks and write for a hobby?  I’m suddenly thinking it’s time to go back to bed and stay there. Sleep is my new hobby.

marie-pm

The BBC podcast below is one of those wake-up calls you get from the front desk Hotel Bookocalypse.

Screen Shot 2014-04-20 at 3.03.16 PM

Image click will take you to the actual podcast

2 comments on “My Terror of Agile Book People

  1. Karen Whitelaw
    April 21, 2014

    You’ve described exactly how that feels to me too. And I know writers just like your Malibu friend. To make myself handle the publishing side of writing, I pretend I can do it like a pro. Sometimes I manage to fool people …

    • inkandpages
      April 21, 2014

      Ah, yes, the magic of fake it ’til you make it. Technically, we’re all just pretending at life, c’est nes pas? Thanks for stopping by, Karen.

Go ahead,

Information

This entry was posted on April 21, 2014 by in Writing and tagged , , .
Exequy's Blog

Come to learn

lionaroundwriting

Let us make an exchange - I provide stories, you enjoy them.

Healthy Diet

weight loss and diet tips with recips

Christopher Kokoski

Writing tips, tricks and secrets

Ingrid's Notes

... musings on creative writing and craft ...

Words and Wanderings

Blog of Writer Michelle Mueller

The Ink Stain

Hi everyone! This is my blog, and this is where I post all of my stories. Writing is my favorite thing to do, and I love nothing more than this. I would appreciate it if you took the time to read my stories! If you like the blog, please share it with more people. Thank you!

Dimitris Melicertes

I don't write, I touch without touching.

Clean Eating with a Dirty Mind

Culinary Adventures in Paleo Cooking

A Permaculture Design Course Handbook

An Online Reader for the Permaculture Community

UP!::urban po'E.Tree(s)

by po'E.T. and the colors of pi

Dark Humor Collective

Short fiction by Chaunce Stanton for funny people

A fool with a pen

The one thing more dangerous than a fool...

Untypickal

Picture a ball with sharp corners. That's me.

AntiWorldNews

Articles all over the world

Old World Garden Farms

Gardening, Cooking, Canning, And A DIY Approach To Living!

Mama Ruthie's Garden

A year spent digging in the dirt.

Write to Wrestle

Live. Think. Learn. Dream. Create. Write.

Scriblet

A random collection of musings, shenanigans, and literary tomfoolery

Food Family and Future

An adventure in gardening for food, sustainability and family fun.

Brenna Layne

"Only connect." -E.M. Forster

The Zero-Waste Chef

No packaging. No trash (to speak of). Everything from scratch.

Uncivilized Animals

"We are lost, but other animals point to the right road. They are the right road." -John Zerzan

World Organic News

Bringing you the latest in ideas, technologies and methods

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,426 other followers

